Skip To Main Content

Cambridge City Council

Help us to improve our online services by telling us what you think

We will be holding user research sessions over the coming weeks and we are looking for people to take part.

Elections in 2022

Scheduled elections were held for 14 of the 42 seats on Cambridge City Council on Thursday 5 May 2022.

A further two seats were elected in Arbury and West Chesterton wards, following the resignations of Carina O’Reilly and Mike Sargeant respectively.

Check the election results from 5 May.

Important dates for these elections

  • Submit a candidate nomination between 10am and 4pm from Tuesday 29 March to Tuesday 5 April (weekdays only)
  • Register to vote by 11.59pm on Thursday 14 April
  • Apply for a postal vote (including a postal proxy) by 5pm on Tuesday 19 April
  • Cancel or change an existing postal or proxy vote by 5pm on Tuesday 19 April
  • Apply for a proxy vote by 5pm on Tuesday 26 April
  • Cast your vote between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 5 May

Eligibility to vote

You were eligible to register and vote on 5 May 2022 if you are:

  • a British, Irish, European Union or qualifying Commonwealth citizen
  • resident in Cambridge, and
  • aged 18 or older on polling day

EU Citizens can still register and vote, even though the UK has left the European Union.

Stand for election

If you are interested in becoming a city councillor, read about councillors’ workload and allowances.

The Electoral Commission provides guidance and resources for candidates and agents at local government elections.

Contact us if you have any further questions.

Councillors whose seats were up for election

  • Abbey: Haf Davies (Labour)
  • Arbury: Patrick Sheil (Labour)
  • Castle: Simon Smith (Labour)
  • Cherry Hinton: Russ McPherson (Labour)
  • Coleridge: Anna Smith (Labour)
  • East Chesterton: Michael Bond (Liberal Democrat)
  • King’s Hedges: Martin Smart (Labour)
  • Market: Katie Porrer (Liberal Democrat)
  • Newnham: Markus Gehring (Liberal Democrat)
  • Petersfield: Richard Robertson (Labour)
  • Queen Edith’s: Daniel Lee (Liberal Democrat)
  • Romsey: Dinah Pounds (Labour)
  • Trumpington: Olaf Hauk (Liberal Democrat)
  • West Chesterton: Jamie Dalzell (Liberal Democrat)

Contact us