Skip To Main Content

Cambridge City Council

Devolution for Cambridgeshire and Peterborough

The seven local councils in Cambridgeshire and Peterborough negotiated a “devolution deal” with central Government in 2016/17.

This deal provided for the establishment of a mayoral combined authority, and a directly elected mayor, for Cambridgeshire and Peterborough. It also provided certain specified powers and funding from central Government.

The Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority was officially formed in March 2017 by then-Communities Secretary Sajid Javid MP, and is made up of representatives from the seven local councils:

  • Peterborough City Council
  • Cambridgeshire County Council
  • Fenland District Council
  • Huntingdonshire District Council
  • East Cambridgeshire District Council
  • South Cambridgeshire District Council
  • Cambridge City Council

The authority is led by a mayor for Cambridgeshire and Peterborough. Each partner is represented by the leader of their organisation.

Find out more about what the combined authority does on the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority website.

What is devolution?

Devolution is the granting of powers and funding from central Government to local areas. It enables decision-making and resources to be managed locally. It has usually involved the creation of a new ‘combined authority’, chaired by a directly elected mayor.

It's an ongoing process which gained momentum following the Scottish independence referendum and Greater Manchester’s devolution agreement in November 2014.

The Cities and Local Government Devolution Bill that made provision for further devolution of powers within England became an Act in January 2016.

Devolution elsewhere in England

Greater Manchester reached an agreement in November 2014.

Subsequently Cornwall, Sheffield City Region, the North East and Tees Valley have secured devolution deals.

For questions about a service we provide, please use our contact us form