Skip To Main Content

Cambridge City Council

Subscribe to email notifications of our service updates and news releases Sign up now

Coronavirus: Updates and information

Find out about available support, how to offer help, and how to look after your wellbeing. Our customer service centre is open to help you by email and phone. Please continue to follow official NHS and government advice.

Committee meetings being held virtually where practicable

During the coronavirus pandemic, we will hold meetings virtually where practicable, although some might be cancelled. Check the committee meeting calendar to see whether meetings are going ahead, and meeting agendas for details of how to connect.

Councillors' duties, conduct and allowances

The council is made up of 42 locally elected councillors, representing 14 wards across the city. They make decisions on how to improve local services on behalf of local people.

The way in which councillors make decisions is informed by the ideas of the political parties they represent.

The composition of the city council is outlined on our control of the council page.

Each councillor normally serves four years in office. A mayor and a deputy mayor are chosen each year from among the 42 councillors.

Each of the 14 city council wards is also represented by a county councillor on Cambridgeshire County Council.

How a councillor will use your data

Councillors will sometimes work with personal information held by us as part of their role undertaking council business.

They might also hold and process information in their own right as a ward councillor. This might happen if you ask a councillor to investigate an issue, as opposed to asking us.

This privacy notice, written from the perspective of and on behalf of your councillor, details how they will individually handle your personal data in this instance.


Councillors have a number of roles and responsibilities [PDF, 0.2MB] and participate in a variety of scrutiny, regulatory and area committees. Find out more in the meetings section.

Conduct, interests, gifts and hospitality

Councillors are required to comply with a code of conduct [PDF, 0.2MB]. This also explains which interests they should register and any gifts and hospitality received.

Each Cambridge City councillor's entry on the register is available on the councillors' details page.

You can inspect the register by appointment. Contact the committee administrator at or 01223 457013 to arrange an appointment.

Councillor allowances

Councillors are not paid a salary but receive allowances, provided under law and recommended by an independent panel. The current scheme is available below, along with reports of allowances paid to councillors in recent years.

Councillor allowances received

Councillor car park passes

Independent Remuneration Panel