Skip To Main Content

Cambridge City Council

Help us to improve our online services by telling us what you think

We will be holding user research sessions over the coming weeks and we are looking for people to take part.

ICT maintenance work on Saturday 21 May

Some of our online systems might be temporarily unavailable – if you are affected, please wait a short time then try again.

Easter and May bank holiday bin collection changes

News release from 12 April 2022

Residents living in Cambridge and South Cambridgeshire are being reminded that their bin collections will be later than usual over the Easter and early May bank holidays. 

Residents are also being encouraged to make waste-aware purchases when it comes to Easter treats and to continue to recycle as much as possible. Around 80 million chocolate eggs are sold in the UK each year resulting in more than 8,000 tonnes of extra waste from Easter egg packaging and Easter cards alone. In order to limit your environmental impact, residents are being urged to choose products with less packaging altogether, as well as ensuring any packaging can be recycled, to reduce the amount of waste generated this year.  

Usual collection dates 

Revised collection dates 

Good Friday 15 April 

Tuesday 19 April 

Easter Monday 18 April  

Wednesday 20 April 

Tuesday 19 April 

Thursday 21 April 

Wednesday 20 April 

Friday 22 April 

Thursday 21 April 

Saturday 23 April 

Friday 22 April 

Monday 25 April 

Monday 25 April 

Tuesday 26 April 

Tuesday 26 April 

Wednesday 27 April 

Wednesday 27 April 

Thursday 28 April 

Thursday 28 April 

Friday 29 April 

Friday 29 April 

Saturday 30 April 

Bank Holiday Monday 02 May  

Tuesday 03 May 

Tuesday 03 May 

Wednesday 04 May 

Wednesday 04 May 

Thursday 05 May 

Thursday 05 May 

Friday 06 May 

Friday 06 May 

Saturday 07 May 

Monday 09 May 

Back to normal 

Head of the Greater Cambridge Shared Waste Service between South Cambridgeshire District and Cambridge City Councils, Bode Esan, said: “Please check your bin collection dates on our website to ensure your bin is out for collection on the correct day over the coming bank holidays. Don’t forget you can also recycle almost all the packaging from your Easter eggs into your blue bin – including the aluminium foil, plastic containers and cardboard. Save up the foil wrappers, scrunching them into a tennis-sized ball, and flatten the cardboard to ensure it can be recycled effectively. If you are sending an Easter card, try to choose a card which is free from glitter, metallic elements or other non-paper adornments. These elements cannot go into your blue bin as they cause problems in our paper recycling process.” 

Residents can download their own tailored bin collection calendar at www.cambridge.gov.uk/binday for people living in Cambridge or www.scambs.gov.uk/binday for those living in South Cambridgeshire. Full bin collection dates, including changes due to Easter and May bank holidays, can also be found in the latest edition of each council’s residents’ magazine.