Skip To Main Content

Local election candidates announced for Cambridge

News release from 05/04/2019

ON THURSDAY 2 May, elections take place across the city for 16 of the 42 seats on Cambridge City Council and for one seat on Cambridgeshire County Council.

Nominated candidates for the Cambridge City Council elections are as follows.

(*Denotes sitting councillor seeking re-election)

Abbey ward
Surname First names Party
BENNETT Naomi Anne Green
BOYD Boris Renew
BUTT Jake Robert Liberal Democrat
DAVIES Haf Morlais Labour
SMITH David Philip Conservative
Arbury ward
Surname First names Party
CLYNCH Harry Conservative
LAWRENCE Stephen Roger Green
O’REILLY* Carina Aileen Labour
WARD Tim Liberal Democrat
Castle ward
Surname First names Party
CHADWICK Greg Liberal Democrat
GREEN Matthew Evan Green
LAMBOURNE Isabel Labour
RILEY Oliver Hammond Conservative
Cherry Hinton ward
Surname First names Party
ASHTON* Mark William Labour
HOSSAIN Mohammed Delowar Conservative
RICHENS Jennifer Helen Green
WRIGHT Henry David Liberal Democrat
Coleridge ward
Surname First names Party
DOUGLAS Donald Fisher Conservative
HADLEY Grace Gabriella Labour
HARRISON Alex Liberal Democrat
NICMANIS Sarah Louise Green
East Chesterton ward
Surname First names Party
BAILEY Gareth Peter Green
BIRD* Gerri Labour
COSKUN Timur Conservative
DUNN Owen Stewart Liberal Democrat
King’s Hedges ward (two councillors to be elected)
Surname First names Party
BARRETT-PAYTON Eric William Conservative
COLLIS Alexandra Lucy Jane Labour
CORN David Paul UKIP
DITCHFIELD Angela Kalinzi Green
HALLAM Luke Jonathan Liberal Democrat
PRICE* Kevin Andrew Labour
REDPATH Ewan Charles Liberal Democrat
SMITH Benedict Conservative
Market ward
Surname First names Party
GARNETT Emma Elizabeth Green
KING Steve Labour
PHELPS William Conservative
PORRER Katie Liberal Democrat
Newnham ward
Surname First names Party
GEHRING* Markus Liberal Democrat
SLADE Mark Green
THEIS Dolly Conservative
Petersfield ward
Surname First names Party
BROWN Sarah Elizabeth Liberal Democrat
BURDETT Stephen Robert Conservative
DAVEY Mike Labour
IERUBINO Virgil Au Wenhan Green
Queen Edith’s ward
Surname First names Party
DAVIES Sam Independent
DEB Manas Conservative
GREEF Dan Labour
PIPPAS* George Gregory Liberal Democrat
WHITEBREAD Elisabeth Jane Green
Romsey ward
Surname First names Party
BLANCHARD LEWIS Joshua Guy Liberal Democrat
KEEGAN Martin Conservative
PATTERSON Caitlin Green
SMITH* Anna Louise Labour
Trumpington ward (two councillors to be elected)
Surname First names Party
BIRD Matt Labour
GALLOWAY Ceri Barbara Green
LORD Peter Liberal Democrat
MEFTAH Shapour Conservative
SALWAY Philip James Conservative
SHAFI May Labour
SUMMERBELL Daniel Leo Liberal Democrat
WELLS Sue Green
West Chesterton ward
Surname First names Party
HARFORD Michael John Conservative
MITCHELL Shayne Mary Green
SKINNER Alex Labour
TUNNACLIFFE* Damien Liberal Democrat

Nominated candidates for the Cambridgeshire County Council by-election in Trumpington division are as follows.

Trumpington division by-election
Surname First names Party
ASHWOOD Barbara Anne Liberal Democrat
CARPENTER Beverley Green
MEFTAH Shapour Conservative

Antoinette Jackson, Chief Executive of Cambridge City Council and Returning Officer for the local elections said: “Please remember that if you are not registered to vote you will need to do so by the end of 12 April if you want to have your say in the local elections.

“Registering to vote is very straightforward and will allow you to vote for councillors to represent you on the city council. If you live in Cambridgeshire County Council’s Trumpington division, you will also be able to select your new county councillor.”

Residents are reminded that deadlines for voting are as follows:

  • To vote in the forthcoming elections residents should be registered to vote by 11.59pm on Friday 12 April.
  • Residents already on the electoral register do not need to take any action and will receive a poll card by 5 April.
  • People can register by visiting and will need their National Insurance number to hand in order to do so.
  • Residents can apply to vote by post before 5pm on Monday 15 April by visiting
  • Residents can apply to vote by proxy before 5pm on Wednesday 24 April by visiting