Don't forget to vote in the local elections on 4 May

News release from 3 May 2017, 11:04am

ELECTIONS take place in Cambridge tomorrow, Thursday 4 May, for the 12 Cambridge seats on Cambridgeshire County Council, as well as for the Mayor of the new Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority. There is also a Cambridge City Council by-election in the Arbury Ward on the same day.

There will be 49 polling stations at 37 sites open across the city from 7am until 10pm (see list below). This year, following a review of polling district boundaries some residents will have to go to a different polling station from in previous years in order to vote. Residents’ polling stations are listed on their poll card and can also be found on the council’s website or by phoning 01223 457048. All are accessible to people with a mobility or visual disability.

Everyone who registered and is eligible to vote will now have received a poll card – although people do not need their poll card to vote, they simply need to give their name and address to the polling clerk.

The counts for all three elections will take place on Friday 5 May from 9am, starting with the county council elections and the city by-election in the morning, followed by the mayoral elections in the afternoon. The overall results for the mayoral election will be announced at the Ross Peers Sports Centre in Soham.

Antoinette Jackson, deputy returning officer for the county council elections, and the returning officer for the combined authority election in Cambridge city, said: “The elections on 4 May are a chance to elect local councillors and the first mayor for Cambridgeshire and Peterborough.

“Even though we are going to the polls again in just over a month for the general election, I would urge anyone who can vote to do so in these important local elections first. This is your opportunity to have a say in decisions that will directly affect you and the place where you live.”


  1. Location of polling stations in Cambridge:

    Abbey ward
    AAA: Barnwell Baptist Church, Howard Road CB5 8QS
    ABA: East Barnwell Youth Centre, Newmarket Road CB5 8LP
    ACA: River Lane Community Room, 50 River Lane CB5 8HP

    Arbury ward
    BAB: Good Shepherd Church Hall, Mansel Way CB4 2EQ
    BBB: St. Luke's Church Centre, Victoria Road CB4 3DZ
    CAB: St Augustine’s Church (small hall), Richmond Road, CB4 3PS
    GAB: Arbury Court Library, Arbury Road CB4 2JQ
    NAB: Milton Road Library, Ascham Road CB4 2BD

    Castle ward
    BCC: St Luke’s Church Centre, Victoria Road CB4 3DZ
    CBC: St. Augustine's Church (large hall), Richmond Road CB4 3PS
    CCC: Castle Street Methodist Church, Castle Street CB3 0AH
    NBC: New Chesterton Institute, Holland Street, Cambridge CB4 3DL

    Cherry Hinton ward
    DAD: St. Andrew's Church Centre, Cherry Hinton
    DBD: Cherry Hinton Village Centre, Colville Road CB1 9EJ
    EAD/EBD: St. Thomas’ Church Hall, Ancaster Way, Cambridge CB1 3TT

    Chesterton ward
    FAF: Scout Centre, Logan's Way CB4 1BL
    FBF: Chesterton Methodist Church, Green End Road CB4 2QR
    NCF: St Laurence’s Catholic Church, 91 Milton Road CB4 1XB

    King's Hedges ward
    FCG: Brown’s Field Youth and Community Centre, 31a Green End Road CB4 1RU
    GBG: Arbury Community Centre, Campkin Road CB4 2LD
    GCG: North Arbury Chapel, Cameron Road CB4 2LY
    NDG: Milton Road Library, Ascham Road CB4 2BD

    Market ward
    CDH: Castle Street Methodist Church, Castle Street CB3 0AH
    HAH: St Columba's Church Hall, Downing Street CB2 3DS
    HBH: Wesley Methodist Church (the refectory), King Street CB1 1LG

    Newnham ward
    CEI: Seminar rooms 3 and 4, Churchill College, Storey’s Way CB3 0DS
    IAI: Trinity Old Field Pavilion, Grange Road CB3 9AA
    IBI: St Mark's Church Community Centre, Barton Road CB3 9JZ
    ICI: Fisher Hall, Guildhall Place CB2 3QQ

    Petersfield ward
    JAJ: St. Matthew's Church Hall, St. Matthew's Street CB1 2LT
    JBJ: Salvation Army Hall, Tenison Road CB1 2DG
    MAJ: Christian Science Church, Panton Street CB2 1HS

    Queen Edith's ward
    DCK: St Philip Howard Church Centre, Walpole Road CB1 3TH
    ECK: Lichfield Hall, Lichfield Road CB1 7BS
    KAK: The Wilkinson Room, St. John the Evangelist, Hills Road CB2 8RN
    KBK: St. James' Church, Wulfstan Way CB1 8QJ

    Romsey ward
    EDL: St Martin’s Church Hall, Suez Road CB1 3QD
    LAL: Ross Street Community Centre, Ross Street CB1 3UZ
    LBL: Romsey Mill, Hemingford Road CB1 3BZ
    LCL: C3 Centre, Coldham’s Lane CB1 3HR

    Trumpington ward
    KCM: The Wilkinson Room, St John the Evangelist Church, Hills Road CB2 8RN
    MBM: Christian Science Church, 60 Panton Street CB2 1HS
    MCM/MDM: Trumpington Village Hall, High Street, Trumpington CB2 9HZ