Skip To Main Content

Housing Scrutiny Committee: Tenant and leaseholder representatives

The Housing Scrutiny Committee includes five council tenants and one leaseholder. They help make decisions on how we run our housing service.

The committee monitors our work every three months, to ensure money is being well spent and services are of a good standard.

Cambridge is one of the few councils in the country that has tenants involved in making decisions at such a high level.

Tenant and leaseholder election

All council tenants and leaseholders get the chance to vote for representatives on the committee. Elections are held every four years. The most recent election was in February 2016.

Suitable candidates, if elected, can receive an annual allowance between £220 and £880, depending on the amount of time they give to the role.

Candidates must also be willing to sign and adhere to a code of conduct [PDF, 68KB].


During the most recent election, in February 2016, six tenant and leaseholder representatives were elected. They are:

  • Diane Best (leaseholder)
  • Kay Harris (tenant)
  • John Marais (tenant)
  • Diana Minns (tenant)
  • Mandy Powell-Hardy (tenant)
  • Lulu Agate (tenant)

Contact the representatives at You can also write to them at HSC Resident Representatives, City Homes, 171 Arbury Road, Cambridge CB4 2YG.

How would you rate your online experience?